Purchase tickets to BRIT's 2019 Conservation Award Gala

Event Date

October 2, 2019, 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM


International Award of Excellence in Conservation

Point of Contact

Sara Richardson

Director of Philanthropy

SherwoodHonorary Hosts Sasha and Ed Bass, Ramona and Lee Bass, Laura and Greg Bird, and Stephanie and Billy Brentlinger invite you to join us at the Palmwood Event Center in Frost Tower Fort Worth for an evening of enchantment.

Our International Award of Excellence in Conservation recipient, Dr. Shirley Sherwood, is a botanist by training and was part of the research team of Nobel Prize winner Sir James Black, whose group discovered Tagamet, one of the most successful treatments of duodenal ulcers. Nearly 30 years ago, Dr. Sherwood began to collect contemporary botanical illustrations and paintings inspired by her extensive travels. Her now comprehensive collection comprises around 1,000 artworks by 303 artists from 36 countries.

Dr. Sherwood connects people with plants through art with important exhibitions of her collection around the world, and the Sherwood family’s support of the development and operation of the Shirley Sherwood Gallery of Botanical Art at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.

For more information, contact Sara Richardson srichardson@brit.org 817.332.2748


2019 Sponsors


About International Award of Excellence in Conservation

Created in 1995, the International Award of Excellence in Conservation is presented to honor individuals and organizations that exemplify the ideals expressed in BRIT's mission. Honorees include scientists, conservationists, heads of state, philanthropists, Pulitzer Prize winners, politicians, and other notables.

BRIT’s annual award event has played an important role in raising public awareness of our mission and has brought an increased understanding of the importance of conservation issues and environmental awareness. Through the education of our supporters, BRIT has added to the global efforts to save the diminishing resources of our planet.

Recipients of BRIT’s International Award of Excellence in Conservation, 1995-2017